Biodiversity Conversations Panel Contributors

This action agenda represents the majority of views shared through the 4-part conversation series. They are listed as co-authors on the first page of the downloadable agenda. The expert panel contributors and their affiliations are below.


DR. ANN DALE: Moderator, Principal Investigator, CRC Program, Royal Roads University

DR. LESLIE KING: Professor and Director, Canadian Centre for Environmental Education, Royal Roads University

DR. VALERIE BEHAN-PELLETIER: Honorary Research Associate, Invertebrate Biodiversity Program, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

DR. DAWN BAZELY: Professor of Biology, York University, previous Director of York University’s Institute for Research and Innovation in Sustainability (2006-2011, 2012-2014)

MEG BECKEL: President and CEO, Canadian Museum of Nature

DAWN CARR: Executive Director, Canadian Parks Council

DR. HOLLY CLERMONT: Conservation Biologist and Social Scientist

JAIME CLIFTON-ROSS, Research Curator, CRC Program, Royal Roads University

MICHELLE CORSI: Veterinary Science Assistant and H&S Lead, The Marine Mammal Center, San Francisco

CHLOE DRAGON SMITH: Connecting a New Generation with Nature Working Group, Co-chair, Canadian Parks Council

SUSAN R. EATON: Member, Board of Directors, Nature Canada, President, SR Eco Consultants Inc., Founder and Leader, Sedna Epic Expedition, Fellow, Royal Canadian Geographical Society

ELEANOR FAST: Former Executive Director, Nature Canada

SUSAN GOSLING: Plant Physiologist; led creation of Gosling Research Institute for Plant Preservation

JODI JOY: Director of Development, Nature Canada

DR. BRENDA KENNY: Co-Chair, Women for Nature. Past president, Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Chair, Alberta Innovates

ELIZABETH KILVERT: Owner, The Unrefined Olive; Educator with a background in natural history museums, aquariums, overseas development projects, and entrepreneurship

PATRICIA KOVAL: Corporate director and lawyer; former Senior Partner at Torys LLP; former Adjunct Professor at the University of Toronto, serves on University of Toronto Environmental Finance Advisory Committee; Board Chair, World Wildlife Fund Canada

CHRISTINE LEDUC: Director of Public Affairs, EACOM Timber Corporation, Master of Forestry, University of Toronto

NINA-MARIE LISTER: Graduate Program Director and Associate Professor in the School of Urban + Regional Planning, Ryerson University; Registered Professional Planner; founder and director of Ecological Design Lab.

ANNE MURRAY: Author, naturalist, advocate for nature conservation, and lifelong birdwatcher

DR. SARAH OTTO: Theoretical Biologist, author, Director, Liber Ero Post-doctoral Fellowship, Professor, University of British Columbia

LAREN STADELMAN: Management Consultant and nature enthusiast

SUSAN TANNER: Former Executive Director, Canadian Environmental Network; Board member, Learning for a Sustainable Future; Founding chairperson of the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF)

SHAROLYN MATHIEU VETTESE: President, SMV Energy Solutions, former President, Wind Simplicity Inc., Inventor, environmentalist